Permaculture - Alternative Farming - Natural Food
DANCENANNA 
So, here is the new natural food & farming thread. As it starts out much of my input will be a repeat of the "Broken American Food System" thread at our last haunt.

I want to be clear that I do not claim to be an expert on the subject in a practical sense, but I have been studying many aspects for several years. I did get my Permaculture Design Certificate (PDC) from Oregon State University a few years ago, but up until now I've only applied it on the small backyard scale. My intention is to acquire some acreage to start a small "natural" farm.

My interest started on the subject through witnessing the growth of the local food movements aka Localvore, Farm to Fork, Integrity Food, Sustainable Food, Etc... and as a former chef, I saw an opportunity to get back into the food industry in way that I could be my own boss and enjoy a pleasant lifestyle.

I look forward to the input of others on the subject and hope I can expand my knowledge base.

For those here that might be less aware of why this topic should mean something to you, looking at our "normal" food system is a good place to start.
This video takes an interesting look at where our food comes from and a brief look at some alternatives. Kinda long at 1 hr. + but I find it entertaining. 

@John 
@"Looky"
[-] The following 9 users Like =42's post:
  • , Apache54, FlyoverCountry, John, Lil Bit, LQQKY, Max, Oldcynic, SickDaveMondo
Like Reply
Everything starts with healthy LIVING soil. It is surprising how new the science of soil biology is.

Another long video for an introduction to soil biology and agriculture.

[-] The following 6 users Like =42's post:
  • FlyoverCountry, John, Lil Bit, LQQKY, Max, Oldcynic
Like Reply
Great Idea for a thread. Heartflowers

You say start with good soil, Yep, that always a good thing.

COMPOST 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compost