Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Can't Change Signature Past Two Days.
#31
(11-20-2020, 02:54 PM)ELIAKIM Wrote: Did it get solved? I tried to update my signature earlier in the year and was unable to do so.

If you have trouble with it still, let one of us know and we'd be glad to help you change it Heartflowers
If you have to fight, fight like you are the third monkey on the ramp to Noahs Ark. And brother, its starting to rain...
[-] The following 2 users Like Catch's post:
  • =cm=, DaJavoo
Like Reply
#32
My solution was to not use the " " or quotation marks when quoting as my signatures were always quotes. Somehow the quotations interfered with installing my signatures. @Catch, Maybe that issue can be corrected.
[-] The following 2 users Like =cm='s post:
  • Catch, DaJavoo
Like Reply
#33
Ah....I see!

The forum software code is seeing the use of quotation marks as delimiters, rather than as a part of speech.


You might try using apostrophes instead.   1dunno1   But, if you can live without the quotation marks, that's probably the easiest solution!   Heartflowers


The formatting for that area of the forum doesn't appear to be strictly for text.
[Image: LnNDwC8.png]
[-] The following 3 users Like DaJavoo's post:
  • =cm=, Catch, MysticPizza
Like Reply
#34
(11-21-2020, 12:24 PM)DaJavoo Wrote: Ah....I see!

The forum software code is seeing the use of quotation marks as delimiters, rather than as a part of speech.


You might try using apostrophes instead.   1dunno1   But, if you can live without the quotation marks, that's probably the easiest solution!   Heartflowers


The formatting for that area of the forum doesn't appear to be strictly for text.

Thanks for confirming the dilemma by testing it yourself. I was hoping that someone would. I solved this issue myself a while back and totally forgot to post my findings.

Living without quotations is doable! Chuckle
[-] The following 2 users Like =cm='s post:
  • Catch, DaJavoo
Like Reply
#35
(11-21-2020, 11:47 AM)CrypticMole Wrote: My solution was to not use the " " or quotation marks when quoting as my signatures were always quotes. Somehow the quotations interfered with installing my signatures. @Catch, Maybe that issue can be corrected.

That said, your situation may be different according to your screen capture.
It seems, though, that these problems are caused by quotations or another
punctuation like terminal or pausing points, or possibly hyphens and dashes.

See the Punctuation Guide here:
https://www.thepunctuationguide.com/
[-] The following 1 user Likes =cm='s post:
  • DaJavoo
Like Reply
#36
(01-17-2021, 12:35 AM)CrypticMole Wrote:
(11-21-2020, 11:47 AM)CrypticMole Wrote: My solution was to not use the " " or quotation marks when quoting as my signatures were always quotes. Somehow the quotations interfered with installing my signatures. @Catch, Maybe that issue can be corrected.

That said, your situation may be different according to your screen capture.
It seems, though, that these problems are caused by quotations or another
punctuation like terminal or pausing points, or possibly hyphens and dashes.

See the Punctuation Guide here:
https://www.thepunctuationguide.com/

The following Punctuations are more than likely the culprits.
This seems to happen because they are at the beginning and end of the text.
I have not yet verified these yet except for the Quotation Marks.

1. "Quotation Marks"
2. [Brackets]
3. (Parentheses)
4. < Angle Brackets >
5. {Braces}
6. 'Apostrophe'

NOTE: The Angle Brackets would not post, so I had to place a space between them and the text. I'll bet that one will cause problems.
[-] The following 1 user Likes =cm='s post:
  • DaJavoo
Like Reply
#37
OK, I tested these one by one:

1. "Quotation Marks" Would not work.

2. [Brackets] All good.

3. (Parentheses) All good.

4. < Angle Brackets > When I closed the space between the bracket and the text, everything between both brackets did not show. However, the text area showed, and you would be able to post.

5. {Braces} All good.

6. 'Apostrophe' Would not work.
[-] The following 1 user Likes =cm='s post:
  • DaJavoo
Like Reply
#38
(01-18-2021, 11:33 PM)CrypticMole Wrote: OK, I tested these one by one:

1. "Quotation Marks" Would not work.

2. [Brackets] All good.

3. (Parentheses) All good.

4. < Angle Brackets > When I closed the space between the bracket and the text, everything between both brackets did not show. However, the text area showed, and you would be able to post.

5. {Braces} All good.

6. 'Apostrophe' Would not work.

@CrypticMole  ~   You get the Diligence Award!  [Image: cpZZvZc.jpg]



A note on those Angle Brackets ~ I used to use them all the time in my posts and at some point within the last year or so, they just wouldn't display correctly ~ it happened about the time we were able to post Twits decently.  And that is NOT just a "Signature" area problem.

However, your work with the spacing indicates that they will work as long as they are free standing. (as plainly showed ^^^)

The Quotations and Apostrophes not appearing in Signatures is puzzling.   1dunno1


My inclination is to suspect we need an update to the forum software when it becomes available or there could be an add-on that has caused a hiccough.


Thank you for your efforts to test your siggy, @CrypticMole  ~ it has put us a step closer to fingering the culprit!   Heartflowers





@Munchaab   @Catch    Heads Up.
[Image: LnNDwC8.png]
[-] The following 2 users Like DaJavoo's post:
  • =cm=, Munchaab
Like Reply
#39
(01-19-2021, 06:38 AM)DaJavoo Wrote:
(01-18-2021, 11:33 PM)CrypticMole Wrote: OK, I tested these one by one:

1. "Quotation Marks" Would not work.

2. [Brackets] All good.

3. (Parentheses) All good.

4. < Angle Brackets > When I closed the space between the bracket and the text, everything between both brackets did not show. However, the text area showed, and you would be able to post.

5. {Braces} All good.

6. 'Apostrophe' Would not work.

@CrypticMole  ~   You get the Diligence Award!  [Image: cpZZvZc.jpg]



A note on those Angle Brackets ~ I used to use them all the time in my posts and at some point within the last year or so, they just wouldn't display correctly ~ it happened about the time we were able to post Twits decently.  And that is NOT just a "Signature" area problem.

However, your work with the spacing indicates that they will work as long as they are free standing. (as plainly showed ^^^)

The Quotations and Apostrophes not appearing in Signatures is puzzling.   1dunno1


My inclination is to suspect we need an update to the forum software when it becomes available or there could be an add-on that has caused a hiccough.


Thank you for your efforts to test your siggy, @CrypticMole  ~ it has put us a step closer to fingering the culprit!   Heartflowers





@Munchaab   @Catch    Heads Up.
If I remember correctly HTML is set to ALLOW in signatures - so if you use html < > without valid code or spaces, that will just be hidden - not deny access to edit...

Not sure anyone is using html in sigs - but might turn it off if peeps still have issues...
I do not know everything, I know just enough to know that I know nothing - which is just a little more than those who think they know anything!


[Image: xHV5PUW.png]
[-] The following 2 users Like Munchaab's post:
  • =cm=, DaJavoo
Like Reply
#40
Turned off HTML ALLOW in Posts - can't see any issue straight away - await reports...
I do not know everything, I know just enough to know that I know nothing - which is just a little more than those who think they know anything!


[Image: xHV5PUW.png]
[-] The following 2 users Like Munchaab's post:
  • =cm=, DaJavoo
Like Reply


Forum Jump: